|| Home | Free Articles for Your Site | Submit an Article | Advertise | Link to Us | Search | Contact Us ||
What The Motorcycle Helmet Law States Per State - Articles Surfing
Motorcycle helmets may not seem all that important when you think about it. It is heavy, hot and even suffocating. The material may even cause break-outs on the skin and even allergies. Motorcycle helmets also keep you from enjoying the wind on your face as you ride. So why the hell should people wear them? The answer is actually fairly simple. It can keep you from having a permanent disability or even keep you from dying.
Take for instance the story of Don Koening who died when his head hit a tree. He left his helmet on his front porch.
There are a lot of people who have suffered from permanent disability, some even died, just because they have forgotten one tiny detail, to wear their motorcycle helmet. What is more saddening about this is the fact that most of these people are between the ages of 16 and 24, people who still have a full life ahead of them.
Laws requiring helmet use
This is perhaps the reason why legislators have included the wearing of the motorcycle helmets in state laws. The law also states that the helmet worn must also pass the criteria that are set by the Department of Transportation's Federal Motorcycle Vehicle Safety Standard 218. It is one of the three laws that require motorists to wear safety gears while in motor vehicles. The other two are the use of a child-passenger safety restrains and the use of seatbelts while inside the car.
Differences in some state laws
Although the same basic law is stated in all the states, there are slight differences as to the enforcement especially with the monetary fines. In California for instance, motorists must wear helmets all the time. Helmets should not only be worn but also securely strapped in. In Florida, the law is somewhat a little bit more complicated.
Although all motorists are encouraged to wear helmets when they ride, people over 21 years old and are covered by an insurance policy that provides for at least 10,000 dollars in medical assistance should an accident happen are exempted.
The helmet law also does not apply to people who are 16 and older and are operating a motorcycle that have a displacement of 50 cubic centimeters; does not have an excess of two brake horsepower or those that are not capable of operating it beyond the speed of 30 miles per hour.
Copyright © 1995 - Photius Coutsoukis (All Rights Reserved).
Arts and Crafts
Auto and Trucks
Business and Finance
Computers and Internet
Computers and Technology
Food and Drink
Food and Drink B
Gadgets and Gizmos
Kids and Teens
Medicines and Remedies
Music and Movies
Pets and Animals
Politics and Government
Recreation and Sports
Travel and Leisure
Travel Part B
Wellness, Fitness and Diet