| Home | Free Articles for Your Site | Submit an Article | Advertise | Link to Us | Search | Contact Us |
This site is an archive of old articles

vertical line

Futurama (Season 1) DVD Review

A brainchild of Simpsons creator Matt Groening, Futurama launched itself into homes across the galaxy in Spring 1999. Employing the same quick wit and visual humor that has made The Simpsons one of the most successful shows in television history, Futurama (despite its early cancellation in August 2003) maintains its own loyal cult following�

Set one thousand years in the future, Futurama follows the life of a modern day American pizza delivery boy named Fry who finds himself reanimated 1,000 years after being accidentally cryogenically frozen. Brought back to life, Fry hunts down his great, great, great nephew - a tinkering scientist named Professor Farnsworth - and spends his days working for his distant relative's intergalactic delivery service alongside good friends, Leela (a female Cyclops) and Bender (a morally-challenged robot). As the characters (usually Fry and Bender) engage in various schemes throughout the universe, Professor Farnsworth and his crew meet up with a number of interesting characters and civilizations�

The Futurama DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which Fry awakens following his 1,000 year cryogenic freeze. When a Cyclops named Leela tries to insert a career chip in him which will make him a delivery boy for life, Fry escapes, meets a robot named Bender, and the two eventually join Leela when she removes her own career chip. Together, they hunt down Fry's closest relative (Professor Farnsworth) and become the crew of his space delivery service� Other notable episodes include "The Series Has Landed" in which Fry and the crew deliver their first package, and "My Three Suns" in which Fry becomes leader of a race of liquid aliens� Season 1 also features its own distinct alien language found on signs littered throughout the various episodes�

Below is a list of episodes included on the Futurama (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Space Pilot 3000) Air Date: 03-28-1999
Episode 2 (The Series has Landed) Air Date: 04-04-1999
Episode 3 (I, Roommate) Air Date: 04-06-1999
Episode 4 (Love's Labors Lost in Space) Air Date: 04-13-1999
Episode 5 (Fear of a Bot Planet) Air Date: 04-20-1999
Episode 6 (A Fishful of Dollars) Air Date: 04-27-1999
Episode 7 (My Three Suns) Air Date: 05-04-1999
Episode 8 (A Big Piece of Garbage) Air Date: 05-11-1999
Episode 9 (Hell is Other Robots) Air Date: 05-18-1999
Episode 10 (A Flight to Remember) Air Date: 09-26-1999
Episode 11 (Mars University) Air Date: 10-03-1999
Episode 12 (When Aliens Attack) Air Date: 11-07-1999
Episode 13 (Fry & The Slurm Factory) Air Date: 11-14-1999

Submitted by:

Britt Gillette

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a blog where you can find where you can find more reviews of movies and TV series. Source: http://thedvdreport.blogspot.com/2006/02/futurama-dvd.html


Auto and Trucks
Business and Finance
Computers and Internet
Food and Drink
Gadgets and Gizmos
Home Improvement
Kids and Teens
Music and Movies
Online Business
Pets and Animals
Politics and Government
Recreation and Sports
Religion and Faith
Self Improvement
Site Promotion
Travel and Leisure
Web Development

Copyright © 1995-2016 Photius Coutsoukis (All Rights Reserved).