| Home | Free Articles for Your Site | Submit an Article | Advertise | Link to Us | Search | Contact Us |
This site is an archive of old articles

    Custom Search

vertical line

Article Surfing Archive

Sanford and Son (Season 2) DVD Review - Articles Surfing

Nominated for six Golden Globes and seven Emmys, including Outstanding Series - Comedy, Sanford & Son became one of the first shows in television history to be almost entirely centered around African-American characters. Modeled after the British TV show Steptoe & Son, the series showcased the underappreciated talents of comic genius Redd Foxx (whose skin color and bad language prevented him from becoming a superstar decades earlier). The brainchild of All In The Family creator Norman Lear, Sanford & Son signaled the beginning of a decade of sitcom classics for the prolific 1970's TV writer - Maude (1972), Good Times (1974), and The Jeffersons (1975) being the others. Wrought with memorable one-liners and well-timed humor, Sanford & Son was a Top 10 Nielsen rated show every year in which it aired except for its final season (ranking a respectable #27)'

Sanford & Son, set in the Watts district of Los Angeles, follows the life of Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx), a 65-year-old African-American junk dealer who shares his business with his 34-year-old son Lamont (Demond Wilson). With Fred's wife Elizabeth having passed away twenty years earlier, he often evokes Lamont's sympathy by clutching his heart and proclaiming, "Oh, I'm coming to join you Elizabeth!" But Fred always survives those near fatal heart attacks, continuing to disperse sarcastic putdowns (often directed at his sister-in-law Esther) and racist stereotypical remarks aimed against whites and Hispanics (especially Lamont's friend Julio). Using guilt to manipulate his ambitious son into staying and helping run the salvage shop instead of pursuing other endeavors, Fred Sanford spends most of his days lounging around the house (his junk store and home are one and the same) and hanging out with his friends - Grady, Melvin, and Bubba' Well-written and hilarious, Sanford & Son is comedian Redd Foxx at his absolute best'

The Sanford & Son (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "By the Numbers" in which Fred dreams of a series of numbers. Despite Lamont's insistence in forbidding Fred to play the lottery, he believes his dream is destiny and it turns out to be so when Fred wins a $500 cash prize. Fred now finds himself a bit richer with a number of people hoping to get a piece of the action, among them - Aunt Ethel, Bubba, and a robber' Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "Tooth or Consequences" in which Fred's toothache is amplified by his refusal to visit a dentist, and "A Guest in the Yard" in which Fred and Lamont discover a homeless vagrant sleeping in their junk yard'

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 15 (By the Numbers) Air Date: 09-15-1972
Episode 16 (Whiplash) Air Date: 09-22-1972
Episode 17 (The Dowry) Air Date: 09-29-1972
Episode 18 (Jealousy) Air Date: 10-06-1972
Episode 19 (Tooth or Consequences) Air Date: 10-13-1972
Episode 20 (The Card Sharps) Air Date: 10-27-1972
Episode 21 (Have Gun, Will Sell) Air Date: 11-03-1972
Episode 22 (The Puerto Ricans Are Coming!) Air Date: 11-10-1972
Episode 23 (The Shootout) Air Date: 11-17-1972
Episode 24 (Blood is Thicker Than Junk) Air Date: 11-24-1972
Episode 25 (Sanford and Son and Sister Makes Three) Air Date: 12-01-1972
Episode 26 (A Guest in the Yard) Air Date: 12-08-1972
Episode 27 (Fred & Carol &&&&&&&&& Fred & Donna) Air Date: 12-15-1972
Episode 28 (The Light Housekeeper) Air Date: 12-22-1972
Episode 29 (The Big Party) Air Date: 01-05-1973
Episode 30 (A Visit from Lena Horne) Air Date: 01-12-1973
Episode 31 (Lamont Goes African) Air Date: 01-19-1973
Episode 32 (Watts Side Story) Air Date: 01-26-1973
Episode 33 (The Infernal Triangle) Air Date: 02-02-1973
Episode 34 (Pops 'n' Pals) Air Date: 02-09-1973
Episode 35 (Home Sweet Home for the Aged) Air Date: 02-16-1973
Episode 36 (Pot Luck) Air Date: 02-23-1973
Episode 37 (The Kid) Air Date: 03-09-1973
Episode 38 (Rated X) Air Date: 03-16-1973

Submitted by:

Britt Gillette

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a blog where you can find where you can find more reviews of movies and TV series. Source: http://thedvdreport.blogspot.com/2006/02/sanford-and-son-season-2-dvd.html.



Copyright © 1995 - Photius Coutsoukis (All Rights Reserved).


Arts and Crafts
Auto and Trucks
Business and Finance
Cancer Survival
Computers and Internet
Computers and Technology
Education #2
Food and Drink
Food and Drink B
Gadgets and Gizmos
Home Improvement
Home Management
Kids and Teens
Learning Languages
Legal B
Marketing B
Medical Business
Medicines and Remedies
Music and Movies
Online Business
Parenting B
Pets and Animals
Politics and Government
Real Estate
Recreation and Sports
Self Help
Self Improvement
Short Stories
Site Promotion
Travel and Leisure
Travel Part B
Web Development
Wellness, Fitness and Diet
World Affairs
Writing B