| Home | Free Articles for Your Site | Submit an Article | Advertise | Link to Us | Search | Contact Us |
This site is an archive of old articles

    Custom Search

vertical line

Article Surfing Archive

Sanford and Son (Season 4) DVD Review - Articles Surfing

Nominated for six Golden Globes and seven Emmys, including Outstanding Series - Comedy, Sanford & Son became one of the first shows in television history to be almost entirely centered around African-American characters. Modeled after the British TV show Steptoe & Son, the series showcased the underappreciated talents of comic genius Redd Foxx (whose skin color and bad language prevented him from becoming a superstar decades earlier). The brainchild of All In The Family creator Norman Lear, Sanford & Son signaled the beginning of a decade of sitcom classics for the prolific 1970's TV writer - Maude (1972), Good Times (1974), and The Jeffersons (1975) being the others. Wrought with memorable one-liners and well-timed humor, Sanford & Son was a Top 10 Nielsen rated show every year in which it aired except for its final season (ranking a respectable #27)'

Sanford & Son, set in the Watts district of Los Angeles, follows the life of Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx), a 65-year-old African-American junk dealer who shares his business with his 34-year-old son Lamont (Demond Wilson). With Fred's wife Elizabeth having passed away twenty years earlier, he often evokes Lamont's sympathy by clutching his heart and proclaiming, "Oh, I'm coming to join you Elizabeth!" But Fred always survives those near fatal heart attacks, continuing to disperse sarcastic putdowns (often directed at his sister-in-law Esther) and racist stereotypical remarks aimed against whites and Hispanics (especially Lamont's friend Julio). Using guilt to manipulate his ambitious son into staying and helping run the salvage shop instead of pursuing other endeavors, Fred Sanford spends most of his days lounging around the house (his junk store and home are one and the same) and hanging out with his friends - Grady, Melvin, and Bubba' Well-written and hilarious, Sanford & Son is comedian Redd Foxx at his absolute best'

The Sanford & Son (Season 4) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "The Surprise Party" in which Fred returns home following an extended stay in St. Louis (i.e. contract negotiations with the network). Everyone plans a surprise party for Fred, but the celebration goes awry when Fred and Esther pick up where they left off (with their constant fighting). Meanwhile, when Fred eavesdrops on Lamont and Grady, the situation only gets worse' Other notable episodes from Season 4 include "Going Out of Business" in which an accounting error leads to Fred and Lamont owing the government more money than they have, and "The Stand-In" in which Fred and Lamont are forced to stand-in for Fred's musician friend Bowlegs when a member of his band gets injured'

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 4) DVD:

Episode 63 (The Surprise Party) Air Date: 09-13-1974
Episode 64 (Matchmaker, Matchmaker) Air Date: 09-20-1974
Episode 65 (Ol' Brown Eyes) Air Date: 09-27-1974
Episode 66 (Grady and His Lady) Air Date: 10-04-1974
Episode 67 (There'll Be Some Changes Made) Air Date: 10-11-1974
Episode 68 (Going Out of Business) Air Date: 10-18-1974
Episode 69 (Home Sweet Home) Air Date: 10-25-1974
Episode 70 (My Kingdom for a Horse) Air Date: 11-01-1974
Episode 71 (Sanford and Niece) Air Date: 11-08-1974
Episode 72 (Julio and Sister and Nephew) Air Date: 11-15-1974
Episode 73 (Fred's Treasure Garden) Air Date: 11-29-1974
Episode 74 (Tower Power) Air Date: 12-06-1974
Episode 75 (A Little Extra Security) Air Date: 12-13-1974
Episode 76 (The Merger) Air Date: 12-20-1974
Episode 77 (Once a Thief) Air Date: 12-27-1974
Episode 78 (The Stand-In) Air Date: 01-17-1975
Episode 79 (Strange Bedfellows) Air Date: 01-24-1975
Episode 80 (The Masquerade Party) Air Date: 01-31-1975
Episode 81 (Golden Boy) Air Date: 02-07-1975
Episode 82 (My Brother-In-Law's Keeper) Air Date: 02-14-1975
Episode 83 (The Headache) Air Date: 02-21-1975
Episode 84 (The Stung) Air Date: 02-28-1975
Episode 85 (The Older Woman) Air Date: 03-07-1975
Episode 86 (The Over-the-Hill Gag) Air Date: 03-14-1975
Episode 87 (The Family Man) Air Date: 04-25-1975

Submitted by:

Britt Gillette

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a blog where you can find where you can find more reviews of movies and TV series. Source: http://thedvdreport.blogspot.com/2006/02/sanford-and-son-season-4-dvd.html.



Copyright © 1995 - Photius Coutsoukis (All Rights Reserved).


Arts and Crafts
Auto and Trucks
Business and Finance
Cancer Survival
Computers and Internet
Computers and Technology
Education #2
Food and Drink
Food and Drink B
Gadgets and Gizmos
Home Improvement
Home Management
Kids and Teens
Learning Languages
Legal B
Marketing B
Medical Business
Medicines and Remedies
Music and Movies
Online Business
Parenting B
Pets and Animals
Politics and Government
Real Estate
Recreation and Sports
Self Help
Self Improvement
Short Stories
Site Promotion
Travel and Leisure
Travel Part B
Web Development
Wellness, Fitness and Diet
World Affairs
Writing B