| Home | Free Articles for Your Site | Submit an Article | Advertise | Link to Us | Search | Contact Us |
This site is an archive of old articles

    Custom Search

vertical line

Article Surfing Archive

The X-Files (DVD) Review - Articles Surfing

Nominated for 12 Golden Globes and 61 Emmys, including 4 for Outstanding Drama Series, The X-Files is one of the world's most popular science-fiction drama shows. Premiering in the Fall of 1993 on the Fox Network, home of popular programs such as The Simpsons (1989) and King Of The Hill (1997), The X-Files created an entire fictional world of conspiracies and secret organizations, building a legion of fanatic followers as devoted to the series as Trekkies are to Star Trek. Creator Cris Carter, a former writer for numerous TV shows in the late-80s/early-90s - The Nanny (1993) is one example - brings together the finest aspects of suspense-laden spy novels and alien science fiction. The result is one of the top sci-fi franchises ever produced, spawning its own line of merchandise and even a full length feature film - The X-Files: Fight The Future (1998). With nine successful seasons to its credit, The X-Files is one of the longest-running sci-fi series in television history'

The X-Files follows the exploits of four FBI agents assigned to investigate a series of unsolved and mysterious cases known only as "The X-Files". FBI special agents Fox Mulder (David Duchovny), Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson), John Doggett (Robert Patrick), and Monica Reyes (Annabeth Gish) are the primary agents investigating these unusual cases which could never be solved by conventional investigatory methods. But Mulder and Scully in particular play prominent roles in the series. The partnership and friendship the two develop during the course of the series sets the tone for their investigations into the paranormal with Scully, a medical doctor, playing the skeptic to Mulder's deeply held beliefs in widespread government conspiracies and alien abductions. Through the course of the series, The X-Files covers a wide-range of frightening and mysterious subjects from killer insects and secret world government organizations to the colonization of Earth by parasitic aliens. In so doing, it adds its own unique brand of humor and an original blend of creativity that fans of the genre will certainly appreciate'

The X-Files DVD features a number of suspense riddled episodes including the series premiere in which FBI Special Agent Dana Scully is first paired with Agent Fox Mulder to help in his work on a special project known as "The X-Files". While Mulder is a true believer in alien abductions and other abnormal happenings, Scully is a skeptic who studies the clues with a rational eye. For their first case, the two agents travel to Oregon where they study the cases of several murdered high school classmates who Mulder believes share the common bond of having been abducted by aliens' Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "Deep Throat" in which Mulder has his initial contact with a mysterious informant named "Deep Throat" (a recurring character) who reveals his knowledge of the truth behind many X-File cases, and "Miracle Man" in which a man harboring the ability to heal people by touching them becomes uneasy when several such people die after being healed'

Below is a list of episodes included on The X-Files (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Pilot) Air Date: 09-10-1993
Episode 2 (Deep Throat) Air Date: 09-17-1993
Episode 3 (Squeeze) Air Date: 09-24-1993
Episode 4 (Conduit) Air Date: 10-01-1993
Episode 5 (The Jersey Devil) Air Date: 10-08-1993
Episode 6 (Shadows) Air Date: 10-22-1993
Episode 7 (Ghost in the Machine) Air Date: 10-29-1993
Episode 8 (Ice) Air Date: 11-05-1993
Episode 9 (Space) Air Date: 11-12-1993
Episode 10 (Fallen Angel) Air Date: 11-19-1993
Episode 11 (Eve) Air Date: 12-10-1993
Episode 12 (Fire) Air Date: 12-17-1993
Episode 13 (Beyond the Sea) Air Date: 01-07-1994
Episode 14 (Genderbender) Air Date: 01-21-1994
Episode 15 (Lazarus) Air Date: 02-04-1994
Episode 16 (Young at Heart) Air Date: 02-11-1994
Episode 17 (E.B.E.) Air Date: 02-18-1994
Episode 18 (Miracle Man) Air Date: 03-18-1994
Episode 19 (Shapes) Air Date: 04-01-1994
Episode 20 (Darkness Falls) Air Date: 04-15-1994
Episode 21 (Tooms) Air Date: 04-22-1994
Episode 22 (Born Again) Air Date: 04-29-1994
Episode 23 (Roland) Air Date: 05-06-1994
Episode 24 (The Erlenmeyer Flask) Air Date: 05-13-1994

Submitted by:

Britt Gillette

Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a blog where you can find more reviews like this one of The X-Files (DVD).



Copyright © 1995 - Photius Coutsoukis (All Rights Reserved).


Arts and Crafts
Auto and Trucks
Business and Finance
Cancer Survival
Computers and Internet
Computers and Technology
Education #2
Food and Drink
Food and Drink B
Gadgets and Gizmos
Home Improvement
Home Management
Kids and Teens
Learning Languages
Legal B
Marketing B
Medical Business
Medicines and Remedies
Music and Movies
Online Business
Parenting B
Pets and Animals
Politics and Government
Real Estate
Recreation and Sports
Self Help
Self Improvement
Short Stories
Site Promotion
Travel and Leisure
Travel Part B
Web Development
Wellness, Fitness and Diet
World Affairs
Writing B